Home > Uncategorized > Welcome to Bobs Books Blog for the best in Children’s Literature

Welcome to Bobs Books Blog for the best in Children’s Literature

BOB’S BOOKS

I want your kids to read !

After twenty years with the National Library I am going out on my own as a Reading and Literacy Consultant to promote reading and literacy in schools.

During my career with the National Library I selected fiction and picture books for the Schools Collection from 1993 – 2003 and from 2005 – 2008 I was Judge and Convenor of Judges for the LIANZA Book Awards. I know my onions.

I am now able to offer my knowledge and passion for Children’s Literature to promote reading and literacy in your school using your own library resources plus a few new books.

For years I have spoken to children of all school levels from years 3/4 through to students doing NCEA. I can advise on the collection development of your fiction collections and provide reading lists for all school levels. But best of all I can talk and read to your students in your own school. Some comments made by schools are as follows:-

– I had one of our reluctant readers come in this morning very excited. She had just read ‘Sold’ (as a result of your reading promotion), absolutely loved

it and she was in to get another book. She admitted that she doesn’t enjoy

reading but she now realises what it means to get ‘hooked into a book.’ – Margaret Turnbull Mairehau High.

– On the Friday after you had left all the books behind that you had shared with classes I had a hoard of students basically trying to break into the library at lunch! I had said in our school notices that it was first in first served for the books and wow – the line of students stretched out to the courts. – Deepa Cawood Linwood Intermediate School.

– Thank-you so much for coming down to Timaru Boys as part of our Arts Week. The response we got from the boys was tremendous and the steady stream of boys we got at the end of the day to take out the books you left behind was impressive to say the least. – Ros Bennett Timaru Boys High.

Contact me initially at email bobsbooks@clear.net.nz or telephone me at home (03) 3833 959.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

