Home > Intermediate Fiction, Romance > Are These my basoomas I see before me? by Louise Rennison

Are These my basoomas I see before me? by Louise Rennison

Are these my Basoomas I see before me? by Louise Rennison. Pub. HarperCollins, 2009

This is the tenth and last book about the confessions of a pre teen girl, now a teenager, called Georgia Nicolson. They are told in diary form and began with the excellent Angus, Thongs, and Full-frontal Snogging.

I asked myself when I picked up number 10, what has made these books so popular? After reading this I know why.

It is the humour. These books are hugely funny,silly and  perceptive. Try this for size from the book:- A boy turns up at a fancy dress party piggy backing his girlfriend. The host says “what have you come as?” Boy says “A tortoise” Host says ” who’s that girl on your back”? Boy says “Michelle”!!

What’s more these books  have a language of their own. (glossary in the back) Georgia combines school talk with German,  added on endings and with a street slang that is vair appealing. Vair is one of the big words of this book.

The plot is based around Georgia and her friends and their efforts to woo boys to be their “luurve gods”. It is about popularity and it’s fickleness. Popular one day, scheissenhausen the next.

The best thing about these books is their essential innocence even though they are dealing with the most basic of urges -sexual attraction. They are always centered around the school yard with innovative teachers and a Shakespearean play to perform, this time Romeo and Juliet or Rom & Jule as the kids call it.

Parents play a silly role but are always there when needed, which isn’t vair often.

Try any of Louise Rennison’s books on Georgia, you will have a laugh.

Essentially for Intermediate and Junior secondary students.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

