Home > Junior Fiction, Picture book > Farmer John’s Tractor by Sally Sutton. Illus. Robyn Belton

Farmer John’s Tractor by Sally Sutton. Illus. Robyn Belton

April 20, 2012

Farmer John’s tractor by Sally Sutton. Illus. Robyn Belton. Pub. Walker Books,  2012.

Whenever I appraise a picture book I block out all the words and see what story the pictures are telling. I saw a brightly coloured, lonely old tractor in a farm shed with some inquisitive and friendly animals.

I watched as vehicle after vehicle got caught in the rising flood waters and I saw how the farmer turned to the tractor when things were grim and the tractor rose to the occasion.

All illustrated by the talented Robyn Belton with pastel water colours and showing a New Zealand farming scene.

I then read the written text to see what harmony has been created. “Farmer John’s tractor lies locked in the shed, Rusty yet trusty and orangey-red.”  Just perfect!

Buy it and read it to your young children. Plenty for juniors to look at and drama as well. Loved the expressions on the animal faces especially the dog.

Categories: Junior Fiction, Picture book Tags:
