Home > Intermediate Fiction, Junior Fiction, Senior Fiction, Young Adult > A letter to my Dog Photographs by Robin Layton

A letter to my Dog Photographs by Robin Layton

November 26, 2012

A Letter to my dog. NZ Edition. Photos Robin Layton. Pub. Whitcouls, 2012.

Groucho Marx once said “outside of a dog a book is a man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it is too dark to read”. I wish there had been more humour in this book but still for dog lovers it is an excellent read.

I was amazed at the depth of feeling that people have for their dogs. Some address their dog as mommy while others talk in terms that I would only use on the woman I love. Still for dog lovers this will be totally understandable.

Written in two parts, one a NZ section about owners who write a letter to their dog telling the dog what they mean to them. It is moving. Some come out of earthquake ridden Canterbury and others from known celebrities.

The American section is of celebrities and others talking about their dogs and is deep felt. In the back there are portraits of the dog owners. A bit over the top in parts for us Kiwis.

My favourite bit was a mother writing about how her 2 year old son feels about the family dog “I love the way it tickles when you lick my toes and when you eat the peas that I throw on the floor”. A bit more of this would have made it more appealing to children.

Each dog is photographed by photojournalist Robin Layton and they are excellent photographs. My favourite being Tony Bennett looking over Central Park with his dog.

For everybody really but dog lovers most of all.

