Home > Humorous Stories, Junior Fiction, Picture book > I am the Big Bad Wolf and here I Come by Benedicte Guettier.

I am the Big Bad Wolf and here I Come by Benedicte Guettier.

September 5, 2014

wolfI am the Big Bad Wolf and here I Come by Benedicte Guettier. Pub. Gecko Press, 2014.

The big bad wolf is one of my favourite literary characters and I am not alone. Children love to be scared by the big bad wolf and to be rescued from him. This outstanding thick board book from French writer Benedicte Guettier gives  you and children a chance to live out those fantasies and fears.

On the first page a naked wolf with a glint in his eye announces proudly that he is the Big bad wolf. He then in consecutive board pages puts on his underpants, T-Shirt, socks, trousers, Red top, boots, hat(with a feather) and coat and now he is coming to get you.

Outstanding. The wolf’s expressions as he is putting on the various items will make adults laugh too and the colourful clothing gives the wolf a sense of humour and style that wouldn’t hurt a fly.

I read it to my pre school granddaughters this morning. They loved it and I know what book is on the menu for bed time.

For pre schoolers and junior primary children. The thick boards mean they can handle it, chew it, throw it in the bath and get the feel for books.

I am off to read it again.

