Home > Junior Fiction > When I am Happiest by Rose Lagercrantz Illus Eva Eriksson

When I am Happiest by Rose Lagercrantz Illus Eva Eriksson

May 6, 2015

when I am happiestWhen I am Happiest by Rose Lagercrantz Illus Eva Eriksson. Pub. Gecko Press, 2015.

The third in this series about Dani who confronts the real world with a positive attitude. Following on from My Happy Life and My heart is Laughing, Dani is a role model for little girls.

This time when she is wondering when she was this happy her dad is hurt seriously in a car accident. She goes to live with her grandparents and is given great support by her classmates.

Told in simple language for early and newly confident readers, with short chapters and outstanding illustrations from Eva Eriksson. She captures the moment very well with simple yet perceptive pencil drawings.

It is a story of sorrow and joy but the bully girls Vicky and Mickey get in on the c=act and Dani’s best friend Ella is still a big part of Dani’s life.

I can’t speak highly enough of these lovely stories.

Categories: Junior Fiction Tags: , ,
