Home > Senior Fiction, Young Adult > Not if I See You First by Eric Lindstrom.

Not if I See You First by Eric Lindstrom.

December 23, 2015

not see you firstNot if I See You First by Eric Lindstrom. Pub. HarperCollins, 2015.

Parker Grant is nearly 16 years old and was blinded at age 7 years in a car accident that killed her mother. At 15 years old she found her father dead in bed and now she lives in the family home with her aunt Celia and two cousins.

When Parker was 13 years she began a kissing relationship with Scott, a boy she had known for ever but  an incident destroyed the relationship and neither of them has gotten over it. 2 years later the two high schools in the town in which Parker lives, merge, throwing Scott and Parker back into each others company. if you want to know what happens you will have to read the novel and let me tell you, you will not regret it.

Parker is very testy. She copes brilliantly with her blindness, is very independent but resents being treated as the blind girl. She runs alone every morning, having counted steps and distance not only in her home but to and from school and even to the mall. Her personality is sharp and edgy to the astonishment and often resentment to those around her.

Parker needs to change and she needs to get over the death of her father and her once relationship with Scott. She needs to grieve, she needs to forgive and in the words of Elsa and Anna she needs to Let it Go. This is what gives the novel power and momentum. The dialogue is real. witty, sharp, amusing and straight to the heart of the matter.

I liked Parker but boy I would never treat her like a blind person.

This is a school story and also a girly story. Eric Lindstrom has got the female relationships spot on. How a man did this so well has got me stunned, I would like to shake his hand and say “well done mate”. It’s the deep analysis that girls put into everything that fascinated me and I derived some insight from reading this book.

High school students will get into this novel especially girls but I can’t see the forwards from the First 15 from Boy’s High picking it up, although they should.

