Home > Uncategorized > Oku Moe Moea. The Dream which is bigger than I am by Shona Hammond Boys

Oku Moe Moea. The Dream which is bigger than I am by Shona Hammond Boys

January 13, 2016

dream biggerOku Moe Moea. The Dream which is bigger than I am by Shona Hammond Boys. Pub.BMS Books bms.co.nz. 2014

This book had to catch up with me eventually and now that it has I confess to reading it’s 80 odd pages twice with some sort of awe. It is about a young 8 year old boy who has rare vision and is gifted in ways that are hard for mere mortals to understand. He sees the world as one planet and the people as one people living in a globe of crisis.

The boy’s name is Victory and he is the only child that survived childbirth. His mother had 5 girls and 4 boys who are each buried under a rimu or totara tree. Victory is very talented at art, has learned to speak, read to a high level and comprehend deep philosophical concepts and kept it to himself.

He has a friend Legend, who is a sporty type, big and strong but understands Victory while protecting him from bullies and the like in his community. Victory’s father is a bushman and good provider and Victory is sent to a Children’s Art House school set up by the author of this book.

To tell you anymore would take the privilege of reading it away from you. I read it when I am assessing my own life in the wake of the death of David Bowie. This book will not change my life but it has given me a greater understanding of where Humankind is in relation to the condition of the planet and of civilisation.

A superb book for the gifted and thoughtful reader of any age.

