Home > Uncategorized > NZ Children’s Book Awards winners 2017

NZ Children’s Book Awards winners 2017

August 15, 2017

These are the winners this year and a very good selection they are too. Apart from the non fiction winner and the Maori Language winner which I have never seen, they are all reviewed on this blog. Take a look, but whats better, buy the lot for your school library.

Unluckiest book Shooting Stars by Brian Falkner

  • Margaret Mahy Book of the Year (prize: $7,500) and winner of the Russell Clark Award for Illustration (prize: $7,500)

Snark Being a true history of the expedition that discovered the Snark and the Jabberwock . . . and its tragic aftermath illustrated and written (after Lewis Carroll) by David Elliot; Otago University Press

  • Picture Book Award: Prize $7,500

That’s Not a Hippopotamus! by Juliette MacIver and illustrated by Sarah Davis; Gecko Press

  • Esther Glen Award for Junior Fiction: Prize $7,500

My New Zealand Story: Bastion Point by Tania Roxborogh; Scholastic New Zealand

  • Copyright Licensing NZ Award for Young Adult Fiction: $7,500

The Severed Land by Maurice Gee; Penguin Random House (Penguin)

  • Elsie Locke Award for Non-Fiction: Prize $7,500

Jack and Charlie: Boys of the bush by Jack Marcotte and Josh James Marcotte; Penguin Random House (Puffin)

  • Te Kura Pounamu Award for the best book in Te Reo Māori: Prize $7,500

Te Kaihanga Māpere by Sacha Cotter, translated by Kawata Teepa and illustrated by Josh Morgan; Huia Publishers

  • Best First Book Award: Prize $2,000

The Discombobulated Life of Summer Rain by Julie Lamb; Mākaro Press (Submarine)

Categories: Uncategorized
%d bloggers like this: